Chapter 33

If anyone ever says having a house full of teenagers is easy, they are lying through their teeth. Though I am grateful that we’ve managed to avoid some issues that parents face raising teenagers.

And while I was once a teenager myself, I think I’ve forgotten how to grasp the concept of teenagers and their ways of dating.  I thought for sure that when Gavin started dating that he would go for Cassandra Goth or Jessica, Lisa’s daughter. I was wrong. Instead Gavin started dating Karina Landgraab. Daughter of Malcolm and Candy Landgraab. Or as Gavin called her, his romantic interest. Gil and I decided to keep to ourselves the fact that Karina’s Grandparents passed away in what now is our Master Bathroom. Might put a damper on the romantic feeling.

1

2

“Mom!” I heard Greta calling from Gavin’s room. I rushed in there, worried something was wrong.

3

I walked in to see Greta, Misty, Gavin and Karina. Though Gavin seemed to be putting on an innocent act and Karina seemed to find Gavin’s wallpaper really interesting off in a far corner.

“What’s wrong?” I questioned Greta.

4

“I walked in on Gavin and Karina getting really cozy on the love seat.” Greta whispered to me. I looked over at Gavin. We had a rule about this. The kids aren’t allowed to have their “romantic interests” in their rooms without someone else in there. Maybe it was strict and maybe our kids felt like we don’t trust them, but Gil and I were still raising our kids. We didn’t want to have to raise a Grandchild too.

5

“So Gavin had a girl in his room? Does that mean I can have a boy in mine?” Gabby asked me.

“No.” Gil simply said and finished his dinner. I had filled my husband in on what had happened and while Gavin hadn’t been caught making out with Karina, we couldn’t be sure what would have happened if Greta hadn’t walked in on them. Though I didn’t think Gavin would go as far as something I don’t want to ever think of my kids doing.

6

“Look, I know I broke one of the rules. And I’m sorry. I really am. I promise I won’t do it again.” Gavin commented.

7

“My babies are growing up.” I said, getting emotional all of a sudden. Obviously I already knew they were all growing up. But even one of them dating was making it all the more real.

“Mom…why are you crying?” Gabby asked me. Though her tone wasn’t a snobby one. She seemed a bit concerned. I sighed. Maybe one day she’d understand if she ever has kids.

“I hate to be cliché, but I think you’ll understand if you ever have kids. Many, many years from now.” I responded.

8

“You got caaaaaaught.” I heard Greta laughing at Gavin.

“Just wait until you get caught doing something you aren’t supposed to do.” Gavin responded to Greta.  I was preparing myself for a yelling match between the two at this point.

9

Luckily Gil came back to the Kitchen and things got a bit calmer.

“I’ve been doing some thinking. Our rule still stands on about you kids not having your boyfriends and girlfriends in your rooms. But I don’t want you all to think that we don’t support you all trying to find love. I’m sure your Mom agrees with me. We want you all to be happy.” Gil told the children.

10

“We know Dad and like I promised Mom. I’ll never have another girl in my room again unless I get the okay or someone else is in there. I promise.” Gavin told us.

11

“Laying the innocent act on a little thick there, aren’t you Gavin?” Gabby asked her brother.

“Oh stuff it Gabrielle.” Gavin responded.

“Don’t talk to your sister like that.” Gil told him. Gavin sighed and left to do his homework.  I made my dessert chocolate that night.

12

After the night Gavin got in trouble, though  it was really just a warning, the twins seemed to be on a mission to annoy their older brother. One day after school they took over his room and did their homework in it.

13

So Gavin did his homework in the twins’ room.

“Annoying sisters. They need to focus on their own lives.” I heard Gavin grumbling to himself as I peaked my head in the door. I felt a bit bad for my son. I never had any siblings growing up, older or younger. So I couldn’t really relate to what he was dealing with. Neither could Gil, as he was an only child as well.

14

As a reward for getting an A plus on a test, Gil and I bought Greta a guitar.  She took some lessons from her music teacher at school, but caught on quickly.  I was happy to see Greta develop another interest, though I was still pleased with her painting.

I was a bit worried about Gabby sometimes though. She showed some interest in writing, but otherwise nothing else. But Gabby is still young. Not everyone can figured out their aspirations when they are young. The main thing is I want my children to be happy with their interests and eventual jobs and careers. I don’t want them to feel they have to choose a certain path just to make others happy. I want them to be happy as themselves, not living up to an idea others have of them.

15

Even though Gavin and Greta hadn’t been getting along that well lately, I still found them painting and sketching in the yard one night. Though they weren’t speaking to each other while doing so.

16

Gil suggested we go to the Spring Festival one day when the kids were in school. I was still mourning Judy, I was just not saying anything about it. But as always it seems, Gil knew.

We played the love detector. Usually I didn’t pay much attention to it, but this time I came up with my favorite quote from it ever.

Passionate – When The sun Sets On This Great Earth and We Are No More – Your Love Will Still Go On – It’s Energy Burning Across The Galaxy.

Maybe a slightly cheesy, but I still loved it.

17

We also took time to enjoy the skating rink since it was empty outside of us.

18

19

Gil and I also played some horse shoe. It was my first time trying it out and Gil said he hadn’t played since he was ten years old. I pretty much sucked at it. Gil was slightly better, but neither of us would win any contests for the game. It was fun at least. I was also glad Gil was able to distract me once again for a bit.

20

When we arrived home we pulled up to see Greta sharing a hug with Sebastian Striker. I looked at Gil and noticed his knuckles were about to turn white from how hard he was gripping the steering wheel on his car.

21

We all went inside and I headed to the Kitchen to fix dinner while the twins played video games and Gavin worked out. I was aware that Gil was stalking around in the Living Room.

22

I made Stu Surprise for dinner and since Sebastian was still there I invited him to join us, not wanting to be rude. We all sat down to eat, minus Gil. I had a feeling he was having issues with seeing one of his daughters hugging a boy.

23

After dinner I was walking out of the Kitchen with Greta when I heard Gil speaking with Sebastian.

“What are you intentions with my daughter?” Gil questioned. I think Sebastian was a bit stunned by Gil’s question, because he proceeded to stumble over his words and said something about Greta being cool. Sebastian left after that.

24

“Mom. Can you please do something about Dad? He scared Sebastian off and I really like him!” Greta exclaimed, pleading with me.

25

“Greta, your Father has every right to ask Sebastian what he did. He could have crossed the line and threatened him or asked some personal questions, but he didn’t. We love all of you. So when it comes to any of you dating, be prepared to deal with us butting in every so often. Especially when the three of you are teenagers. ” I told Greta.

Gil walked by smirking on his way to put up the left over Stu Surprise in the fridge.

Greta for her part huffed and walked off to her room.

26

Later on that night after I was dressed for bed Gavin asked to speak with me. We sat down on the sofa.

“Mom. You know I love the twins. They’re my sisters. But they are driving me nuts lately. When we’re at home one of them is always around. They give me like no space. They like to come into my room when I try to go in there to get away from them. I just would like one day were I can have some space from them.” Gavin told me.

“I had a feeling this was going on. I’ll talk to you Father and see what we can work out.” I told Gavin. I was already thinking of some ideas, I just needed to run them by Gil.

27

Gil and I came up with a plan. I would take the twins to the Spa for the day for some pampering and that would get them away from Gavin for a while.

28

Gil took Gavin fishing for few hours before letting Gavin take off with his car to have some time with himself. We did make an agreement with the kids though. That we would all meet up at the Spring Festival come early evening.

29

We all kept our word and hit the dance floor together at the Festival. I even ended up winning Spring Dance Queen once again, but the same thing happened to my award as last time. It got lost in the mail.

30

Once home I went to work in the Kitchen to heat up some left overs. So far the kids weren’t fighting, so I was grateful for that. Greta even gave Gavin some space and spent her time with Misty on the couch.

31

The next day it was just warm enough for us all to enjoy our swimming pool, though it was still a little chilly.  Gavin informed us that he invited Karina over to join us. We were fine with it since it would be in a family setting.

32

While the twins, Gil and I were hanging out around the pool I looked over to check on Gavin and saw my son get his first kiss. I had mixed emotions about it. But overall I was very happy for him.

33

By the time Gavin grabbed Karina’s hand, we were all watching. Gavin asked Karina to go steady with him, he wanted her as his Girlfriend and I thought that was sweet.

34

But she didn’t. Karina started yelling at my son and my blood started to boil.

“I already told you Gavin! I’m not looking for something serious! We can hang out and stuff, but I don’t want to just date you and only you!” Karina yelled.

35

I just couldn’t stand back and let her yell at my son.

“Listen you little brat. You don’t get to come into our home and yell at my son like that. I want you out of here and don’t think I won’t be telling your parents about your behavior here today.” I told her before pointing to the door. I even followed her and made sure she left as Gil talked to Gavin.

36

“I thought Mom was going to snap that twit in half! She would have deserved it too! Karina sleeps with about the whole school.” I heard Greta telling Gabby on my way back to Gavin and Gil.  Now I was glad Karina had shown her true colors.

37

Gabby giggled.

“I was hoping Mom would grab her by the hair and swing her around like a baseball bat. I can’t stand her.” Gabby told Greta, then laughed and shoved her sister, in a joking way, when Greta imitated Karina’s voice to her.

38

“I just don’t get it Dad. I was nice to her. I wrote her sweet notes, I complimented her. I listened when she talked. Will women ever make sense?” Gavin asked Gil.

Gil looked at me. I nodded my head.

“Not really. But she just wasn’t the right one for you. That’s all.” Gil told Gavin, before making the twins go inside. It was getting time for dinner and he was going to have them cook.

39

With it just us left, I placed my hands on my son’s arms and made him look at me.

“I know you’re hurt. I’m sorry you had to endure that. Your Dad is right though. She isn’t the one for you. Someday you’ll find that person, but for now you just need to give yourself time to heal from this. I love you and so do your Father and sisters. We’re here for you Sweetie. It’ll be okay. I promise.” I told Gavin before hugging him. I knew this would happen someday and that I couldn’t protect him from it. I was just glad Karina had shown what she’s really like before things got too serious between them.

10 thoughts on “Chapter 33

  1. mosneakers says:

    Karina is such a betch! I loved that chapter.

  2. selahgio says:

    Awwh that stupid Brat 😐 Gavin can get better than her!

  3. lisa0821 says:

    *sad face* & *hugs Gavin* Gavin, listen to your momma. Don’t waste your time on that self-absorbed playa. You are worthy of so much more than that!

    Errrmm, Queenie, I might be getting a bit involved with your story. I just had a chat with Gavin XD

  4. Karina better watch herself, hopefully we don’t see her again.

Leave a comment